A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in lucknow

Administration in Lucknow

Lucknow , the City of Nawabs, is the political and administrative capital of Uttar Pradesh. The state assembly of Uttar Pradesh is known as Uttar Pradesh Vidhan Sabha. Lucknow has nine State assembly constituencies and two Lok Sabha constituencies.

Court Administration in Lucknow

District Magistrate

Lucknow is under the jurisdiction of the District Collector who is well known as District Magistrate in Uttar Pradesh. A District Magistrate is an officer of the Indian Administrative service or an officer of the Provincial Civil Services who gets promoted to an IAS officer. He is appointed by the Uttar Pradesh government. Magistrates are in charge of property records, revenue collection and to maintain law and order in the City. Districts are divided into sub divisions which is governed by a sub-divisional magistrate or sub divisional officer. Sub divisions are further divided into town municipalities and community development blocks. to get details of the DM office, click here

Address of the Office of DM
District Magistrate, Room No.49, Collectorate Building, Qaiserbagh, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
Phone: 0522 2623024
Email. dmluc@nic.in

Lucknow Municipal Corporation

Lucknow is divided into 110 wards for administrative purposes. Lucknow Municipal Corporation administers the city with the Municipal Commissioner at its helm to head the administrative staff of the corporation. He is an officer of the Indian administrative services. The corporation consists of corporators who are elected directly by the people from wards. The City Mayor is the head of this corporation. Each ward has an Assistant Municipal Commissioner to oversee the administration. Lucknow Nagar Nigam is entitled with the responsibility of collection of tax, maintenance of roads, construction of other public utility services and upkeep of the city.

Address of the Lucknow Nagar Nigam
Lucknow Nagar Nigam, Husadiya Chauraha, Vineet Khand 6, Gomti Nagar, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh- 226010

Lucknow Police Department

The UP Police department is divided to 8 police zones and further divided into 18 police ranges and again subdivided into 75 police districts. Each zone is headed by an officer of the rank of Inspector General of Police, each range by Deputy Inspector General and each district by the Senior Superintendent of Police. All these officers are members of the Indian Police Service. A senior Superintendent of Police is assisted by Additional Superintendent of Police and Deputy Superintendent of Police who are officers of the Uttar Pradesh state police service.

Lucknow zone has two ranges, Lucknow and Faizabad. Lucknow range has 6 districts under administration including Lucknow and Faizabad range has 4 districts under administration. The police department is accountable for maintaining the law and order of the respective areas. The traffic police of Lucknow is a semi-autonomous body of the Lucknow Police department.

Address of the DGP Head Quarters
DGP Head Quarters, 1-Tilak Marg, Lucknow
Phone: 0522 2206104
Email: police@up.nic.in

District Court of Lucknow

The High Court of the State of Uttar Pradesh is located in Allahabad and it has Lucknow as its permanent bench. The bench consists of three high qualified jurists. Lucknow also has District Consumer Forum and Labour court.

Address of Lucknow High Court Bench
High Court Lucknow Bench
Kaiserbagh, Lucknow
Uttar Pradesh
Ph: 0522 2222212

Address of Consumer Court
Consumer Court Uttar Pradesh
C – 1, Vikrant Block – 1
Near Shaheed Path
Gomati Nagar, Lucknow – 226 010
Email : up-sforum@nic.in

Address of Consumer Forum
District Consumer Forum
2A/1, Rana Pratap Marg
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Address of Lucknow Labour Court
Labour Court, AP Sen Road
Near Charbagh Railway Station, Lucknow

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries